Douglas hertz

Matt Marks Fellow


“Much of my work in the past two years has been in collaboration with a choreographer with whom I have developed a close personal and professional relationship. Writing for dance has challenged me to activate my visual and temporal imagination in a way that is as exciting as it is new and terrifying.”

— Douglas Hertz

Headshot (Chappe 2016) reduced.jpg

Douglas Hertz (b. 1993) is a composer and percussionist based in Brooklyn, NY. Hertz uses sound as a medium to investigate experiences ranging from the personal to universal and from the physical to the spiritual. Through his work, he seeks to connect with audiences in a way that helps them better understand themselves, one another, and the world they inhabit.

His work has appeared on programs presented by the Aries Composers Festival, Midwest Composers Symposium, Nief Norf Summer Festival, Atlantic Music Festival, the Dynamic Music Festival, Bard College’s Music Alive series and the Deer Valley Music Festival. His music has been either performed or recorded by the Wet Ink Ensemble, Da Capo Chamber Players, American Symphony Orchestra, Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, Calidore String Quartet, Denovo String Quartet, Vanguard Reed Quintet, Up/Down Percussion Quartet, Room 1078, //meridian vocal ensemble, BrassTaps Duo, UT Austin Percussion Ensemble, and the George Mason University Percussion Ensemble.

Hertz is an avid collaborator and constantly seeks new contexts for creating original work. Recent interdisciplinary projects include Hallow Hollow, a 40-minute electroacoustic work for dance, and Saeculum, a 20-minute cantata for dance, both created in collaboration with choreographer Al Evangelista.

Hertz completed his undergraduate degree at Bard College and recently earned a masters degree in music composition from the University of Michigan where he was awarded a graduate fellowship for both years of study. He currently studies with Evan Chamber. His past teachers have included Kristin Kuster, Evan Chambers, Bright Sheng, George Tsontakis, Joan Tower, Kyle Gann, and Janet Weir.